…So THIS just happened.

Posted: Monday, June 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

image

Yeah, so I’m walking up my driveway, wheeling back the garabge can, and there, about 30 yards in front of me, is the above pictured black bear. I don’t think she saw me- I’m assuming its female, as there have been reports of a black bear with cubs in the neighborhood;  I didn’t see any cubs, fortunately.  The whole experience was QUITE an adrenaline rush, to say the least, as I stood there watching her.  Had she decided to rush me, my plan was to use the big-ass, green WM garbage bin on wheels to defend myself.  It didn’t come to that, as she continued alongside the house towards the back yard.  Then, with my heart pounding in my chest, I ran into the house to grab the closest camera, which turned out to be my phone.  By that time she had made her way down the steep hill, crossed the street, and headed for the thicker woods; that’s when I took this picture – it’s from about 100 or so yards away, and a good 50 ft above.

And then I went to go change my drawers.

I’ve always been fascinated with bears, and have always wanted to see one in person.  Now I have. And it was pretty awesome.  But it does suck, and saddens me that since we have so encroached on these poor creatures’ habitats, she is forced to mingle with us assholes.

p.s. – This was my first blog post created and sent completely from my phone.  I’m gonna try and do more of this.  We’ll see how it turns out. xoxo

Comments
  1. adam says:

    straight up Oregon trail! That bear is like 600 pounds of meat. If you killed it, you could have saved your family for a month. You’re inaction, fear and poor marksmanship will result in your first born dying of smallpox and second born of typhoid fever.

  2. nastynate says:

    i would have loved to see you the bearfighter use that green can like a rodeo barrel. oops don’t lose your rainbow wig.

  3. Colin says:

    I need a rug for the wood paneled 70s bar in the new house. Must be obtained through bare hands battle however. No pussy footing around with a rifle. Get on it.

  4. Donk says:

    Gee, nice place.

  5. johnnyC says:

    @ Adam, Nasty, and Colin: I’m falling out laughing at ALL your comments.

    @ Adam: BRILLIANT ‘Oregon Trail’ reference. I’ve been thinking about it all day. And now I want to go ford the Delaware River.
    @ Nasty: Again, you paint another hysterical mental picture: me, as a rodeo clown, my big green garbage bin, an angry bear, and bear-riding cowboy.
    @ Colin: Sorry, but if I get that bear with my five-finger-death-punch, I’m gonna wear that motherfucker, hat/cape style like Tony Hopkins in ‘The Edge.’

Leave a Reply

